Pantry Makeover

Pantry, meet people. People…meet pantry.

 photo 20160223_172645_zpsnlnkbjrs.jpg

Quite the eyesore, right?

We’ve lived in our house for a few years, and it has looked this way since the beginning of time. I could tell by all the food I pulled out that expired in 2013. Oops! In the quest for cleaner eating (and to save my sanity) I decided to redo it. I am not a real Pintrest professional, and quite honestly that wasn’t what my intention was with this pantry anyway. My intent was to organize so that my family and I could find what we were looking for, specifically the good-for-us food.

SO without further ado…

 photo 20160228_162630_zpstgzgfpnm.jpg

Tada!!!!!! I am very happy with how it turned out. I still need to get a few additional boxes, but it is still organized until that can happen. I found all my jars at Big Lots for $43.50. The 2 organizers I used for the canned goods were $8.00 each at Walmart, so all in all I don’t think I spent too much to make the pantry look refreshed!

 photo 20160228_161536_zps26vqvir0.jpg

It’s even been approved by Zeus, and that is no easy feat since this cat is unimpressed with everything except food and bubbles.

I put everything that was opened in the baskets and labeled the baskets accordingly. Everything behind is overstock and lines up with what is in the basket. I put all unhealthier items up high so I have to think about if I truly want them or not. I’m 5’2″ so dragging out the foot stool to reach up high sounds very unappealing most of the time. The rest of the “unclean” items are on the bottom shelf. There are some items my husband can’t give up, and that’s ok.

I hope this inspires you to think about how you can redo your pantry to not only make it easier to find items but to also organize to eat healthier. I know it has me, and I’ve also been inspired to start organizing under my sinks next. Happy organizing!

 photo beforeafter_zpsmiwbjaem.jpg

 

One thought on “Pantry Makeover

Leave a Reply

