Happy Friday!

It is supposed to get to the upper 60s/lower 70s today, setting a record for March. Say what?! Even yesterday was beautiful, so beautiful that I packed my little guy up, and we took a quick 30 minute walk before dinner.

Ah, dinner. It was so delicious. My husband was gone last night, and typically when he is gone I break out a box of mac and cheese for dinner (and in turn I am hungry an hour later). Yesterday I was proactive and took out a pound of ground turkey and decided to also use the zucchini in the fridge. I found a recipe for Clean Eating Garlic Parmesan Turkey Meatballs. No, that is not a typo in the recipe. It does indeed call for 10 cloves of garlic, and yes, you should use 10 because that is what made these meatballs delicious. My toddler son, who won’t eat anything but ham, oatmeal, green beans, and fruit, gobbled up a whole meatball himself and then wanted more of mine.

To go with the meatballs I kind of formed my own recipe with the zucchini:

1 Tbsp oil (I used Wild Tree Organic garlic dipping oil)
1 medium zucchini
3/4 cup of southwest style hasbrowns
Onion powder, garlic powder, dill weed, Italian seasoning and pepper to taste

You can leave the outside on the zucchini, but I took mine off for my son. I put the oil in the pan with the potatoes and zucchini and then just eyeballed my spices. I like a lot of flavor, so I used quite a bit. Cook for 10 minutes, and you have a quick, easy side dish that is healthy too!

 photo 20160310_182250_zpshojvvhng.jpg

I was actually full after it as well. I’ve been “tricking” myself with the smaller plates though too, so maybe that is helping as well.

Tonight I am headed to the gym after work to do some of those chin-ups and work on strength. The rest of the weekend will be spent going out to eat unfortunately, but I’m hoping we go somewhere that will allow me to make good choices. On the plus side we will be moving my brother, so I will be lifting heavy boxes and walking a lot!

Have a fantastic Friday! xx

One thought on “Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

