The Breakfast Blues

I eat breakfast every single morning and a healthy one at that, which is far cry from when I was younger. I came from a family who didn’t eat breakfast (and still doesn’t),except for Sunday mornings, but my brother and I would grab our big mixing bowl, fill it up with cereal, and watch Saturday morning cartoons. I’m glad I don’t have those same habits as an adult, although they taught me a few things about my diet and how those habits were hard to break.

I did some research about when the best time to eat breakfast is, and I guess I eat more of a brunch. They say to eat breakfast within an hour of waking so it kick-starts your metabolism. My breakfast falls somewhere between 2 hours before lunch and 3 hours after waking up. It has worked for me, but perhaps my body needs a shock. So this morning I woke myself up a half an hour early, made two egg whites and had a piece of cheese. I tell you what–it took a lot to choke down that egg white. I am unsure why I hate food that early, but it is a change I’m willing to stick with to see what happens.

My day was made better when my son (T) gave me a kiss though. He’s a very independent toddler, and typically when I ask for a kiss he struggles to break free and runs screaming. It’s like high school all over again, haha! Perhaps T sensed I needed a mood boost because while I was holding him and talking to my husband, he planted a kiss right on my cheek. As I started to tell him just how much I loved him, he puckered up and laid one right on my lips. *Sigh*

Recipe Time

Over the weekend I bought some chicken legs because I found a recipe for the Best Chicken Drumstick Recipe EVER. I was skeptical, but it seriously is the best chicken recipe I’ve had. It calls for the simplest ingredients:

-Raw Chicken Drumsticks
-Olive Oil or Coconut Oil (I forgot this step, oops)
-Salt
-Black pepper
-Garlic Powder
-Paprika
-Cinnamon (she says not to skip this, and I agree. This MADE the recipe)
-Cayenne (I didn’t use this because of T, but I bet it would really amp up the chicken)

You literally just rub the drumsticks with the oil, put the salt on, and then sprinkle the remaining ingredients. Put in the oven on 400 degrees for 30 minutes, flip the drumsticks, and bake another 30 minutes. She uses parchment paper, but I used our Yoshi Mat. If you don’t have one, make your life easier and go buy one. They are worth it.

 photo 38c30692-1a1e-4324-951e-c931186c45d0_zpsltjykspg.jpg

My mouth waters thinking of these drumsticks. I also made two potatoes with dill weed, Italian seasoning, garlic powder and pepper in a pan on the stove. Took me about 30 minutes on low heat, constantly tossing, so they wouldn’t burn. They were delicious. Don’t be scared to put on as much or as little seasonings as you want with either the chicken or potatoes. Recipes without exact measurements used to turn me off, but I experiment, and I actually end up loving the recipes a lot more when I put my own twist.

Hope you have a terrific day, and thanks for reading!

One thought on “The Breakfast Blues

Leave a Reply

